Opera Mobile 9.51b1 – Beta Update to fix notification / alarm sounds

I’ve been a user of Opera Mobile 8.65 on my Orange HTC Touch for a while now, although of late I’ve got a bit fed up of the lack of mobile content out there, as well as the somewhat variable GPRS connectivity on my daily commute between Portsmouth and London.

More recently I’ve been using the Java based Opera Mini.  It uses dedicated proxy servers to compress images and so on, and initially delivers a zoomed out overview of a page, which I can then zoom in on specific areas as required.

Opera Mobile 9.5 has been in the works for some time now, and the first public Beta was released around the 17th July.  I downloaded and installed it, but haven’t used it all that much, because for me at the moment, Opera Mini gives me the best experience on  ‘normal’ websites.

In the meantime, I had some funnies going on with my Touch over the last couple of weeks, with some of the sounds it makes being slightly different – higher in pitch, for example – nothing serious, but just strange.  The problem went away with a soft reset, but would randomly come back.

The announcement on Tuesday of an update to the Beta, in order to fix a bug relating to notification sounds / settings on Windows Mobile, provides an explanation. I shall be updating my installed version, and we shall see how it goes.

Technorati Tags: ,
This entry was posted in Windows Mobile and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

