Unable to sign in to Windows Live Messenger–Error 81000490

 

Ok, so I’ve been getting the above error on my Windows7 netbook for a while now.  The official reason for the error is ‘the service may be temporarily unavailable’.

I found that I could log in fine on the netbook using a different Live account, and the problem account worked fine on a desktop PC, which pointed to the problem being somewhere in the Windows profile on the netbook, and not a service problem.

I tried an uninstall and reinstall of WLM, which made no difference.

I then used the ‘forget me’ option on the login screen – this also made no difference.

I then found that for each Live account, there is a folder at the following location:

C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Live\Contacts

The folder names are the email address for the related Windows Live accounts.

I simply deleted the folder for the problem account, at which point I was able to login to WLM without a problem.

(If you get an error when trying to delete the folder, make sure that WLM is not running, then if you still get an error, check in Task Manager for the wlcomm.exe process, and end it if present.)

This entry was posted in IT, Windows7 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Unable to sign in to Windows Live Messenger–Error 81000490

  1. Bere says:

    Gracias!!!

  2. Gustavo says:

    It worked for me, thanks!

  3. Ran says:

    Works great!
    Solved my problem.

  4. Tommy says:

    Thanks, fix my problem.

  5. xeeks says:

    It worked for me before. Now It doesnt. I can get online from other windows accounts but not from my primary account which I use for msn. Please Help!!! I keep getting this error (81000490) on that account when I try to get online from it.

  6. eejeian says:

    he probado todos tus pasos!
    y sige sin iniciar sesion !!
    que ma spueod haceer?

  7. Wael says:

    It didn’t work for me 😦 damn!!!
    I followed all the steps it didn’t help
    please Help!!!

  8. Jordan says:

    THANK YOU SIR, THIS FIXED IT.

    😀 😀

  9. alejandro says:

    it didn’t work for me too!! i follow all the steps and i still can’t get online!, please search another way

  10. danbbc says:

    I did all the steps, but it did not work for me, anyway to fix this?

  11. Christophe says:

    Thanks you, was working like a charm

  12. tumj says:

    Many Thank, can fix my problem. ^^

  13. Raj Ankur says:

    NO way, It didn’t work for me!

  14. causzticic says:

    it worked! thank you very much 😀

  15. Tingto says:

    it’s work~thanks~

  16. Mikael says:

    I tryed a lot of different things but this worked!
    Thank you!

  17. ZaZa says:

    OMG… thank you very much for this solution.
    Everything works well for me now !

  18. Stevan says:

    many thainks 😉

  19. lting says:

    unable to sign in youor web mail box.

  20. THANKS MAN!! Solved the problem for me!! 😀

  21. Bjorn Janssens says:

    thanks, been having this problem for a long time, finally it’s solved 🙂

  22. lostcause says:

    you are the best .worcks fine for me.tks

  23. thanks bro says:

    worked, tyvm

  24. Claus says:

    Thanks alot

  25. Zeeman says:

    great! worked like a charm

  26. tonnie says:

    thanks it works for me!!!

  27. BlackEJ6 says:

    Had a few employees with this issue, and your fixed worked. Thanks!

  28. Dany says:

    Hero ❤

  29. Qayin says:

    Worked great, thank you so much!!

    Make sure you delete ” ALL ” the files with your email address attached to the, I had about three.

  30. john says:

    tried all sorts till I found your solution …… worked fine now thanks a lot …….

  31. Dan says:

    Thanks, worked.

Leave a Reply

